Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Camogie Champions

Camogie Girls win exciting Final

Drumgoon 4 10  Lacken 0 11
Drumgoon Minor Camogie had a great win against Lacken in the County Final on Sunday evening in a very chilly 3g Breffni. The game started at great pace and intensity which was kept up by both teams over the fifty minutes. Siobhán McCabe opened the scoring for Drumgoon with a well taken point followed seven minutes later by goal from Ellen Maguire. Drumgoon kept piling on the pressure but Lacken backs stood firm. A great spell of team play and excellent passing resulted in points from play by Laura Bannon, Ellen Maguire, Sarah Clarke, Ellen Clegg and a pointed free by Ciara Fitzpatrick left the half time score at 1-6 to 0-5 in favour of Drumgoon. The second half started as fast-paced as the first with a point from Ciara Fitzpatrick after four minutes. Siobhán McCabe and Alysia Carolan battle hard in mid-field winning a lot of possession and along with great running from the back-line by Sarah Clarke and Sophie Murphy Drumgoon looked strong. But Lacken are also a very strong team and scored some great points. Captain Codi Shalvey was very solid in goals and ably assisted by a strong back line of Zoe Whelan, Sarah Clarke, Sophie Murphy, Katelyn Macleod and Alice Markey handled the pressure well. A point from Laura Bannon and a fantastic goal from Ellen Clegg a minute later settled the nerves again. Ciara Fitzpatrick pointed a free and a cracker of a goal from Laura Bannon left Drumgoon 7points up with five minutes to go. Another great point by Ciara Fitzpatrick followed by a super goal by Sarah Clarke left the final score at Drumgoon 1-10 Lacken 0-11. It’s a credit to both teams that they delivered such a high standard of camogie in difficult conditions. 

Drumgoon: Codi Shalvey © Zoe Whelan; Sarah Clarke (1-1); Sophie Murphy; Katelyn Macleod; Siobhán McCabe (0-1); Alysia Carolan; Laura Bannon(1-2); Ciara Fitzpatrick (0-4, 2f); Ellen Clegg (1-1); Ellen Maguire(1-1); Alice Markey. Subs: Eva O’Grady; Laura Fox; Jorja O’Reilly; Lisa Reynolds.

Back Row, L to R, Jorga O’Reilly, Ellen Maguire, Sarah Clarke, Ciara Fitzpatrick,, Alysia Carolan, Katelyn Macleod, Alice Markey, Zoe Whelan, Ellen Clegg.
Front Eva O’Grady, Laura Fox, Sophie Murphy, Codi Shalvey, (C), Siobhan Mc Cabe, Laura Bannon

Leave a Reply