Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

2002 Recalled

by Patrick Moynagh
The fantastic achievement of Arvagh Gaa in bringing a Club All Ireland title back to Cavan, and the terrific scenes in the homes, the schools, the Parish and across the County (and the Middle East), bring back wonderful memories of seasons past, and the inaugural All Ireland Junior Club Championship title. which weaved its way to Drumgoon back in 2002.

With players like the Hannon brothers, Martin Clerkin, An Cathaoirleach Jimmy O’Reilly, Jacko, the inimitable Philip McDermott, a fist full of Crossans, Jim McNally, a McCabe or two, Paddy Bates and the two Michaels at the helm – and the mercurial Keith Fannin – himself still instrumental for Drumgoon Éire Óg 22 years later, and lining out in an Ireland shirt these days…. This was a truly joyous time on Boyle Park and in the Parish.

Comhgairdeas Arvagh GAA. History is written. Enjoy the rightful praise.

These are achievements that inspire the next generation. This I have wittnessed. They should not and will not be forgotten nor ignored.

Maith sibh……..

Cavan club win All-Ireland crown

Mon 20 May 2002 at 00:11

DRUMGOON 1-14 ; BELMULLET 0-12 DRUMGOON continued their fairytale march to glory when they were crowned All-Ireland junior football club champions at Cremartin, Castleblayney, on Saturday evening.

Drumgoon, who won their first ever Cavan championship title last year, out-played Mayo side Belmullet in a hugely entertaining and free-flowing final.

Drumgoon led at half-time by 0-8 to 0-6 after recovering from a shaky start that saw Belmullet race into an early three points lead. Belmullet repeated the feat at the start of the second half to leave the Cavan champions trailing for the second time. The crucial score came in the 48th minute when county player Edward Jackson goaled from close range after a great run by Michael Hannon. Belmullet threw everything into attack in the last ten minutes, but Drumgoon ‘keeper John O’Reilly denied them the goal they needed

SCORERS Drumgoon: I O’Reilly 0-4, K Fannin 0-4, E Jackson 1-0, P McDermott, A Crossan 0-3 each. Belmullet: B Lynch 0-5, S Carolan 0-3, J Sweeney, A Howard, M Gaynard 0-1 each.

DRUMGOON J O’Reilly; J Reilly, C Hannon, M Clerkin; P McEnroe, MA Hannon, K Fannin; E Jackson, J McNally; P McDermott, A Crossan, I O’Reilly; B Bates, P McCabe, S Morris. Sub: P Hand for B Bates.

BELMULLET D Padden; I McCafferky, C Healey, E Dixon; P Keane, D McDonnell, K Lavelle; P Barrett, J Sweeney; A Howard, BJ Padden, S Carolan; B Lynch, M Gaynard, T Geraghty. Subs: M Kilroy for J Sweeney, K Lally for M Gaynard, D Sweeney for D McDonnell.

REF B McNally (Cremartin

Irish Independent

Leave a Reply