Senior League

Drumgoon 1-09 - 1-04 Knockbride
06 Jun 2004 - 16:00Bolye Park

Senior League Drumgoon 1-9 Knockbride 1-4
Drumgoon edged out Knockbride in an entertaining tie in Kingscourt on Friday evening last.Drumgoon got off to a perfect start when an in form Jim McNally scored one of the fastest goals in the history of the game. Jim won the throw in, played a one-two will Philip McDermott and duly stuck the ball in the back of the net. With Jim and Paul McEnroe dominating midfield Drumgoon continued to pile on the pressure. Drumgoon had points from Philip McDermott and Niall Fortune before Knockbride opened their account through Niall Reilly. Drumgoon responded well when the inspirational Keith Fannin hit three unanswered points.Before the break Darragh Smith shot over for Knockbride to leave the scoreline 1-05 to 0-02 in Drumgoons favour at half time. Knockbride started the second half in a more determined mood and Raphael Rogers went on a mazy run and shot to the net.Raphael was unluckey to see another effort go wide and another brilliantly saved by Drumgoon keeper John O’ Reilly. Drumgoon with the youthful Edward Gaffney making an impressive senior debut earned two frees which Niall Fortune cooly slotted over to settle Drumgoon nerves. Knockbride did try hard to get back into the game but they found Niall McEntyre and Paul Crosson in top form in the Drumgoon defence. Michael Hannon found Philip McDermott for another score.Knockbride replyed through Niall Reilly.With time running out Paul Mc Cabe earned a free for Drumgoon and Niall Fortune completed the scoring. Best for Drumgoon: Jim McNally, Keith Fannin, Paul Crosson, Niall Mc Entyre and Edward Gaffney. Best for Knockbride: David Traynor, Ciaran Lynch, Raphael Rogers and Niall Reilly.
Drumgoon: John Reilly, Barry Crosson, Paul Crosson, Niall McEntyre, Edward Jackson, Michael Hannon, Ronan Crosson, Jim McNally, Paul McEnroe, Philip McDermott, Niall Fortune, Paul McCabe, Niall Clerkin, Keith Fannin, Edward Gaffney.
Knockbride: Ronan Keskin, Declan Reilly, David Traynor, Dermot O’Brien, Michael Donohue, Ciaran Lynch, Michael Clarke, Peter Reilly, Ollie Mulvey, Seamus Carroll, Niall Reilly, Adrian Rogers, Seamus O’Brien, Raphael Rogers, Daragh Smith.
Referee: Michael Henry