Rd. 1, 23/4 Mountnugent v Drumgoon

Mountnugent 0-11 - 0-12 Drumgoon
23 Apr 2023 - 14:00Mountnugent
11 to 12
DRUMGOON made good their long journey to Mountnugent last Sunday evening as they chalked up yet another important ACFL Division 3 
The homesters started well and points from ciaran caffrey and ned brunton  augured well. However, Drumgoon seemed determined to continue on their winning ways and they duly posted notice of their intention to make it four wins from four outings to date this year by grabbing the initiative in a big way after the hosts’ early rally and they rattled off four unanswered points up to the 16th minute via Shane Smith (2), Conor Moynagh and Keith Fannin to leave Mountnugent trailing by 0-2 to 0-4 before David Sheridan cut the gap.
 Back came Drumgoon though, hitting back with interest thanks to
points from Moynagh, Fannin, Smith and Patrick Lynch in quick succession before the aforementioned Smith was unlucky to see his arrowed effort rebound off the butt of the Mountnugent post. Mountnugent were their usual gritty selves though and they had the better of the exchanges in the dregs of the first half and a brace of points from the dangerous Adam Rehill in the 28th and 29th minutes meant that Drumgoon’s lead at the interval was reduced to three points, 0-8 to 0-5,
Mountnugent had points from Josh Reilly, a brace from Ciaran Caffrey and one from David Sheridan. A gem from Aogán Óg Farrell followed by a point from Fannin and Moynagh left Mountnugent facing a
0-8 to 0-11 deficit.
Another fine effort from Caffrey and one more from Sheridan added to the hopes of the hosts but a Shane Smith point, a second yellow card in the 58th minute for Aiden O’Brien (Mountnugent) and the timely introduction of experienced hands from the bench helped seal the deal for the visitors.
Mountnugent: J Givney; O Campbell, L Campbell, C Drumm; C McEnroe, R Finnegan, J Reilly(0-1); O Smith, R McCabe; A O’Brien, C Caffrey (0-5), N Brunton (0-1); B Brunton, A Rehill (0-2), D Sheridan(0-2). Sub; C O’Brien.
Drumgoon: C Smith; D Ward, D Keappock, M Murray; D Lynch (0-1), C Moynagh (0-3), D Donegan; B Cooney, D Hand; E Crossan, K Fannin (0-2), L Smith; P Lynch (0-1), A Farrell (0-1), S Smith (0-3).
Subs B. Brennan  C. Farrell, K. Moynagh