Drumgoon v Denn

Drumgoon 2-10 - 0-11 Dernn
23 Jun 2023 - 20:00Boyle Park
Drumgoon 2-10 Denn 0 -11
Drumgoon deservedly won a thriller on Boyle Park tonight. The first half was played in torrential rain and at half time they trailed by one point. In the second half conditions improved and they fought back bravely to a man, until getting in front. Each of the players played their hearts out and in the end their better team play proved to be the difference.
Corey Smith, Donal Keappock, Killian Moynagh, Mark Murray, Shane Smith, Barry Cooney, Dominic Donegan, Conor Moynagh, Darren Lavery, Darragh Lynch, Conal Farrell, Dean Carroll, Patrick Lynch, Keith Fannin, Paddy Smith, subs used Dylan Hand, Aogan Farrell, Ben Brennan
scorers Keith 1-1, Dean 3, Aogan 1-0, Conor 2, Paddy 2, 1 each Donal & Shane

Celt Report
Two well-taken goals in the second half proved all-important when the top two teams in Division Three of the ACFL clashed at Boyle Park, Drumgoon on Friday evening last.

With both teams determined to nail down a place in the last four of the competition, there was always the prospect of an absorbing and hard- fought encounter taking place and that’s just how things panned out.
Drumgoon proved to be the better team on the day and thoroughly deserved to land the spoils and while Denn can have no complaints they didn’t help their cause by having Oisin Kiernan and Bernard Gaffney red carded in the final ten minutes of the game.
Denn opened brightly and Cavelle Keogan opened the scoring but in the 9th minute Dean Carroll (free) levelled for the hosts. Amazingly though, Drumgoon wouldn’t add to their tally ’till the 25th minute.
In between times, Denn played their best football of what was a dreadful evening for football as
they notched points, the first two a Keogan pair of frees and then a brace from open play by Thomas Edward Donohoe and one then for Keogan from open play. Drumgoon were up for the fight
though and a point aplece from Paddy Smith, Conor Moynagh, Keith Fannin (all from play) followed which left the score standing at 0-5 to 0-4 at the interval in favour of the visitors.
Drumgoon were much the better team in the second half though they flew out of the blocks with a
Conor Moynagh point and then from Dean Carroll and Paddy Smith in the first six minutes.
Thomas Edward Donohoe replied for Denn (free) in the 43rd minute
and then Keogan fired over a brace -0). of frees to keep the hosts on their toes.
There then followed the score of the game with Donal Keappock rifling the ball over the Denn bar
from under the stand which left Drumgoon one point ahead. Jamie Reilly then replied for Denn with a neat point before, crucially, Conor Moynagh’s angled centre was expertly palmed to the Denn net by Aogan Óg Farrell.  Donohoe point followed for Denn before Keith Fannin pulled on the ball soccer style and flashed it to the Denn net with 56 minutes on the clock. Shane Smith and Donohoe (Denn)  exchanged a point apiece in the dying seconds as the hosts held on for a morale-boosting victory. The Drumgoon: Corey Smith; Donal Keappock (0-1), Killian Moynagh, and Mark Murray: Shane Smith (0-1), Barry Cooney, Dominic Donegan; Conor Moynagh (0-2), Darren Lavery, Darragh Lynch, Conall Farrell (0-1), Dean Carroll (0-2); Patrick Lynch. keith fannin, Paddy Smith
 Denn: Conor Courtney; Bernard Gaffney, Micheal Gaffney, Leon Cobey; Oisin Kiernan, Caolan McCabe, Cian Courtney: Bernard Gaffney, Mark McSherry: Odhran Galligan, Cavelle Keogan (0-5), shane galligan jamie reilly  ben conaty 1 thomas edward donohue 4
subs Mark Fagan  Gary Callaghan