2021 Intermediate Championship v Templeport

Drumgoon 0-09 - 0-08 Templeport
26 Sep 2021 - 16:00Killygarry
Drumgoon 0-9
Templeport 0-8
Having come close in a couple of games, including a draw against Drumlane, Drumgoon pulled off an excellent win when they got the better of a high-flying Templeport by the minimum margin on Sunday evening at a rain-lashed Killygarry.
In the process, under the management of former Killygarry forward Stephen McGovern, the Eire Ógs retained their intermediate status. The Boyle Park men were ahead by 0-4 to 0-2 at half-time; Templeport came back to level near the end but Drumgoon pulled two clear in the closing stages again and held on for a priceless victory.
Templeport opened a two-point lead early on through Eoin Doonan (free) and the lively Conor Galligan but Drumgoon levelled matters by the water break and scored the only two points of the second quarter, with veteran Keith Fannin, top scorer on the day, outstanding up front along with Dean Carroll and Paddy Smith.
In very difficult conditions, Templeport – who were coming off the back of a draw with Cuchulainns and a big win against Butlersbridge – managed to draw level with four points from Conor Galligan (two frees) and a score for half-time sub Dillon Raythorne made it 0-7 apiece with four minutes to go.
However, Drumgoon came up with two crucial late scores and Templeport could only muster one in reply, a free from Eoin Doonan. Outstanding in an excellent Drumgoon defence were the Moynagh brothers, Killian and county man Conor, as they managed to shut down what had been a free-scoring Templeport attack.
Following fine fielding by Mick Mc Donald, he sent through to an ever improving Kaylan Jackson, who shot over the bar. Drumgoon extended their lead, when Aogan Og Farrell, won a good ball at full forward and quickly passed it back to Keith Fannin, who cooly slotted over with his trusty left foot. A feature of the Drumgoon attack was that it featured two players, Paddy Mc Cabe & Keith Fannin, from the side which won the Junior All Ireland Club title, 20 years ago, beating Belmullet in the final.
Drumgoon: Corey Smith, Donal Keappock, Killian Moynagh, Dylan Hand, Barry Cooney, Conor Moynagh, Conal Farrell, Mick McDonald, Kaylan Jackson 0-1, Enda Shalvey, Keith Fannin 0-5, Paddy Smith, Dean Carroll 0-3, Paddy McCabe, Shane Smith
Sub: Aogan Og Farrell
Templeport: Joe Kiernan, Liam McAweeney, Sean Dolan, Brendan McGoldrick, Oran Duffy, Benjamin Kelly, James Rudden, Eoghan Martin, Gavin Donohoe, James Murphy, Eoin Doonan (0-2f), Jack Kelly, Conor Galligan (0-6, 3f), Eoin McCaffrey, Liam Galligan
Subs: Dillon Raythorne (0-1)l.