The first girls football teams in the Parish, started in the 90’s, when Dernakesh N.S. School entered teams in the schools league. Their first Division 1 success came in 1998, when the girls team won the Cumann na mBunscol mini-sevens final. Dernakesh N.S. 2-07 Carrickabruise 2-06. The report read “Dernakesh N.S. won the 1998 seven a side girls football final at Killygarry.  Forty seven schools started out in this competition and full credit to both schools for emerging to the final. The game was close and tense. Dernakesh built up a seven point lead at half time but Carrickbruise, thanks to two goals from Ciara Brady fought back. Pamela Dowd the Dernakesh keeper kept them in touch and in the end Dernakesh were deserving winners by one point.  They now represent Cavan in the regional finals. 
Dernakesh:- Pamela Dowd, Emma O’ Reilly,  Breda Mc Cluskey, Ann Smith, Ciara Farrell, Michelle Cunningham,  Paula Lynch, Aisling Mc Gibney, Sinead Keenan, Fiona Connolly, 
Carrickabruise:-  Ciara O’ Reilly, Julie Cahill, Julie Keogan, Ciara Brady, Tara Cadden, Christina Rock, Mairead Rock, Sharon Monaghan, Helen Cullen. 
The girls represented Cavan in the regional mini sevens and from that tournament Ann Smith and Ciara Farrell, were chosen to represent Cavan in the half time matches in the All Ireland series in Croke Park. Ann played at half time in the All Ireland semi-final between Derry and Galway, while Ciara played at the half time interval in the 1998 Senior Mens All Ireland Final between Galway and Kildare.
With so many good footballers coming through the system, soon some former students, organised a Ladies team to represent Drumgoon.
Aisling Mc Dermott organised the first Drumgoon game, a challenge match away to Donaghmoyne. Training commenced on Parker’s meadow, next field to Foy’s green, as Boyle Park was out of action, for a year, due to re-surfacing. Their first manager was Tom Farrell. Tom trained them at the same time as the U14 boys, and they played highly enjoyable practice games against each other. Their first official game in Drumgoon colours was played on the pitch at the Comp against Ramor in 1994/5, and Tom also refereed it, luckily he cannot remember the scoreline.
In goals was a youthful Teresa Clerkin, Outfield were Denise Clarke, Aisling McDermott, Margaret Mc Dermott, Pauline Shalvey, Blathnaid Farrell, Maria Clarke, Caroline Clarke, Bernie Clerkin, Muireann Mc Dermott, Derbhla Mc Donald, Donna McGahon, Ann Shalvey, Nicola Shalvey, Anne-Marie Mc Nally, Maread McNally, Irene McCabe Aoine McQuillen, Katryn McDermott, Diane Pepper Fiona Morrris, Ann Pepper.

The girls quickly improved and in 2000, trained by Philip Mc Dermott, Seamus Morris and Charlie Coyle, they brought the first adult football championship cup to the parish, beating the men by one year. In Killygarry, they defeated Knockbride in the final and were captained by Blathnaid Farrell.
Tom Dowd presents the Cup to Blathnaid Farrell
Back row, L to R, Muireann Mc Dermott, Lisa Murray, Diane Pepper, Caroline Clarke, Aisling Mc Dermott,
Ann Smith, Elizabeth Mc Cabe, Breda Mc Cluskey, Nicola Clegg, Sarah Mc Cabe, Tracy Cochrane
Front row L to R, Michelle Murray, Teresa Clerkin, Catherine Mc Bride, Ciara Farrell, Emma Kate O’ Reilly,
Margaret Mc Bride, Blathnaid Farrell, Claire Mc Caffrey




Cavan GAA – Drumgoon

Drumgoon are county champions Drumgoon 1 – 12 Ballyhaise 2 – 04
Drumgoon ladies put in a very good performance on saturday evening last in Ballyhaise on a glorious sunny afternoon to capture the senior shield. Despite going in as underdogs, Drumgoon dominated the game from start to finish, were first to the ball all over the pitch and thoroughly deserved their win.
Drumgoon start strongly with 15 year Siobhan Mc Gorry dominating midfield with great support from the energetic Aisling Mc Dermott. Playing the long game and continually hitting the ball into space Drumgoon started racking up the scores. Muireann Mc Dermott was in great form at corner forward and she quickly shot over two points. Drumgoon had two further points from Teresa Clerkin and Ciara Farrell before Ballyhaise opened their account througha goal from julia leddy. Balyhaise were not going down without a fight and soon drew level with a point from Collette mc Caul. With both sets of defences now in command scores were hard to come by. Ballyhaise applied the pressure but great work at full back by Catherine Mc Bride kept the tide at bay. Catherine got good support throughout from Sarah Mc Cabe and Margaret Mc Bride. Michelle Murray had a point for Drumgoon shorlty before the break to leave the scores 1 – 03 to 0 – 06 at half time. Drumgoon hit a purple patch after the break and ran into an unasailable lead. Siobhan Mc Gorry went a great run upfield and passed to the equally youthful Doireann Farrell, who cooly slotted home to the net. From the kickout Fiona Murray set up Doireann again to shoot over the bar. Aisling Mc Dermott added another for Drumgoon before Ciara Farrell shot over three unanswered points. Drumgoon were now playing some of their best football in years and the large attendance thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Ballyhaise to their credit did not give up and had a late goal from Roisin Greenan, but it was a case of too little too late. Chairperson of the county board, Cepta Traynor presented the shield to the winning captain Teresa Clerkin.
Drumgoon:- Caroline Clarke, Niamh Farrell, Catherine Mc Bride, Karen Boylan, Sarah Mc Cabe, Margaret Mc Bride, Tara Cunningham, Aisling Mc Dermott, Siobhan Mc Gorry, Fiona Murray, Ciara Farrell, Teresa Clerkin (Capt.), Muireann Mc Dermott, Michelle Murray, Doireann Farrell,
Subs: Michelle Cunningham, Clare Mc Caffrey, Paula Lynch, Cora Mc Bride, Anita Mc Kitterick
Ballyhaise:- Sarah Pickett, Sinead Lyons, Maired Mc cabe, Laura Masterson, Aileen Smith, Emma Nevin, Elaine O’ Reilly, Aisling O’ Reilly, Elaine O’ Reilly, Blathnaid Dunne, Aoife Costello, Yvonne Donohue, Julia Leddy, Collette Mc Caul, Roisin Greenan
Dernakesh Girls Football Team 1997
Ann Smith & Ciara Farrell

Ciara Farrell v Derry in 2001
2000 winners